Rage Quit…the best EVE experience yet!

When I finally got home the other night, there was alot to do. All the days away meant plenty of time spent un-packing, doing laundry, cleaning up, etc. etc. I was able to knock most of the chores out in short order so that left me with a few hours to spend in New Eden.

Before I left I had put Caldari Frigates V in the training queue and when I logged on I had just over 4.5 days to go. I had chosen that skill simply because it was the only one that I could train continuously the entire time I was gone, not necessarily because it was the best one to train. Either way, now that I was home and even though I was almost done with it, I decided to switch training to a few other shorter skills, like Industry V, Science V and a few Weapons Upgrade skills. Even if I had complete Frigates V, I still would have weeks of training before I could ever fly one of the unlocked ships, like the Flycatcher, not including the weeks spent trying to make the money to even buy one.

I used to spend the majority of my time in EVE planning my skill queue. It was great to queue up 15 skills for the night and it gave me lots to work out in my spreed-sheets. Yet now that the majority of my skills take upwards of 2 to 7 days to complete I’ve been having more time to actually get out there in space. Case in point, my first night back I decided to get some mission running in. So I undocked and travelled to a nearby station that has my one and only Level II agent. I’ve run a couple missions for her before, but they’ve all been courier type missions, not too exciting. Well not tonight!

Turns out she needed help riding a local trading gate of a pirate infestation. No problem I thought, little did I know that I was in for the longest, most frustrating EVE experience I’ve ever had…hands down.

As I get to the gate I encounter a fair number of Pirate Frigates, definitely more difficult than anything I’ve encountered in the past simply because there were so many. It didn’t have too much trouble dispatching them though in my little Caldari Cormorant Destroyer. However, after 5 waves I was in trouble as a few Cruiser class Pirates spawned. I immediately noticed these large red crosses on my Overview. I’m quite used to the smaller ones, so I figured this one would be tough. It took me a good hour or more, but I was able to pick off a couple Pirates at a time, then warp away for repairs, thus saving the Cruiser for last. When he finally popped I felt pretty good, yet the final wave was about to hand it to me big time.

The sixth and final wave was very similar to the first. It had the same cruiser spawn, yet this one was firing large missile at me from 75km+ away doing significant damage. I tried the same strategy, picking off one or two pirates at a time and then warp away, and it worked initially but I was just taking too much damage to sustain any real assult. Yet that wasn’t the truly frustrating part. Near the giant warp gate that I was defending was an enormous asteroid, I didn’t think anything of it really until I began flying too close to it. I attempted to align to a celestial object and ‘warp to within 0km’ and my ship started to spin in space with it’s speed indicator stuck near 20m/s yet indicating that I was in warp. I was taking heavy damage so I tried again. Nothing. I frantically started pressing every hotkey I could and trying to change direction, anything to get me moving again…nothing. My ship was stuck in a state of warp, but wasn’t moving. My poor little ship eventually popped and there I was in my pod. Frustrated that I lost my ship to a stupid rock, but more angered that such a fluke occurred. Oh well, it happens I guess. Off I went to purchase another ship and try again.

I was finally all setup and ready for round two about 30 minutes later. When I warped to within 70km of the site I headed for my old wreck, hoping to salvage anything I could. I got about 30km away from the can when my ship started the wicked spinning again. “Seriously?” I thought, I immediately tried turning around. Nope, I was stuck again. Pop. Ship number two was gone in less than a minute. At this point I was fuming. How could such a problem exist in a quality product like EVE? I mean, after 6+ years could they not have handled Large Collidable Objects better? Ugh, I calmed myself down and started the process of re-equipping another ship. I was starting to get a little worried because I’m running low on funds currently and even though these frigates are cheap, 700k ISK for me is a big hit.

After another 30 minutes, I was back. This time I was going to avoid the big rock at all costs. Earlier I had set a bookmark to a random floating beacon near the old warp gate, so this time I warped in to that spot. Apparently while I was away my Pirate friends had congregated around this little area, they seemed to know I was coming back. No sooner than 10 seconds after I had warped in I was heading back in my pod AGAIN. Seriously, there has to be something fundamentally wrong here. There’s a difference between a stupid mistake that deserves a facepalm and one where no matter how hard you try you still fail regardless.

Now, I know I’m a severe newb, and I know things can get complicated in EVE, but there had to be something that I could have done to make this less painful. Was my ship fit completely wrong? Where my skills not up to par? Was I simply in over my head even though I was able to handle all 5 previous waves with no problem? WTF was wrong?!?! ARGH!!

Defense of a Warp Gate

Defense of a Warp Gate

To make a long story a little shorter I ended up losing another 2 ships that night (one to the giant asteroid again) before calling it quits. I had laid my head on my keyboard a few times, shaking in my chair. I said the words “I’m cancelling my subscription to this stupid game!” a few times in my head. This whole experience was something I’ve only ever had a few times before. Then I remembered the term “Rage Quit”, and immediately knew exactly what they were talking about. Granted this was something extremely trivial, nothing like some of the epic failures we’ve all read about before, but it was no less frustrating.

I’m sure a number of you are thinking ‘Damn, if this guy can’t handle a simple Level II mission he needs to go back to Free Realms!’, but ultimately, looking back, I’m glad I had this experience. I was so frustrated and assumed I was doing something so utterly wrong that I started doing alot of research on ship fits and resistance modifiers and rigs, etc. etc. I finally fired up EFT and began using it properly. I finally understood the differences between ships and attacks. I tried probably a dozen new items and skills. I started using ECM jammers and began looking very closely at ammunition types and the differences between them. I used long range missiles and skill augmenters. It was like a flood of knowledge all at once.

The night became the single, most impactful EVE experience I’ve ever had, bar-none, good and bad. I had read about other new EVE players relating similar stories, but I just didn’t “get it”. The things I discovered first hand were all probably glossed over by me previously in reading some of the new player guides out there. As they say “It only takes once” I guess. After being almost ready to quit the game I couldn’t have been more excited to keep playing!

One of my initial impressions was that I was using the wrong ship, clearly I was on the border of utter failure, but my Cormorant seemed to be getting the job done. So part of my research was looking at new ships. Clearly I needed to elevate to Cruisers and I was appropriately trained to do so, but I simple couldn’t afford one, so I just had to make do.

Being that I was practically broke I needed a way to make some more capital. I settled on mining since I’ve always wanted to get into more anyways. That’s when I remembered my ship research mentioned above. I couldn’t afford a Caracal for fighting (and you’re never supposed to fly a ship you can’t afford to replace!), but I could afford and fly an Osprey. Hot Damn! I busted out EFT and hit the BattleClinic forums to find a great mining fit. In no time at all I was the proud owner of a new basic mining Osprey Cruiser, dubbed: “The Pelican”

I spent the rest of the night mining away to my hearts content. Being that the Osprey has a drone bay, something mostly unfamiliar to me before since no ship other than the Caldari Bantam has had room for drones, I was able to fit some mining drones in for good measure even though I can only fly 3 at once currently. I have to admit they are pretty fun.

Since this was a night of “firsts” for me I wasn’t totally surprised by what happened next, my first ‘can flip’. For those unaware, when mining in high-sec you typically pump the ore in your hull to a jet can floating in space since they hold a huge amount, many times more than most cargo holds. Unfortunately, they are totally unsecure and anyone can fly by, open the can up, and take what’s inside. This is what’s refered to as “can flipping”. So there I was, mining my own business, when someone warped into the asteroid belt. I didn’t think too much of it at first, but when I saw them heading straight for me I knew something was up. I quickly warped off to home base to pick up my hauler to get my ore that I’d spent a good 30 minutes on. When I got back the person was still there but they were now bright red in color (I assume from opening my can?). I arrived just in time to see him warp off. He had renamed my can ‘Thanks for the ore!’ so I figured I was out of around 20k m3 of ore. When I got to the can and opened it I was only missing about 4k m3, he must not have had space for the full load. Regardless, I was a little surprised when it gave me an aggression timer for opening and emptying my own jet can! Oh well, I was able to get back to my station without further incident. At least now I can say someone has flipped me off in space.

It seems new EVE experiences come in bunches. I can’t wait until this Sunday when I will finally finish training Industry V and be able to fly mining barges. Hopefully by then I’ll have mined enough to afford one, time will tell.

And in case you were wondering. I was able to finish that Level II mission in my Cormorant. I flew back in as soon as I logged on that night and cleared all six waves with not too much effort. In the end I lost probably 3 million ISK, but I see that now as money well spent!

6 Responses to Rage Quit…the best EVE experience yet!

  1. Were you using a destroyer for a L2 mission? Nice that you eventually succeeded, but it’s always a good idea to use:

    L1 – frigates
    L2 – cruisers
    L3 – battlecruisers
    L4 – battleships

    You can always fly a cruiser into a L2 mission while still having it fit with your frigate fittings… As you gain more skills and skill levels, you can upgrade the equipment on the cruiser accordingly.

    The cruiser will be able to take far more punishment with frigate fittings than a destroyer can.

    All the best!

  2. Cyber says:

    One key thing about your can flipping experience. You got the aggression timer because you didn’t take the ore back from your can. The can flipper probably stole all he could fit in his hold, then jettisoned a bit and transferred all the ore from your can into his…hence when you took it back, you ‘stole’ it from his can, and got flagged for it. That’s the only way you could have gotten an aggression timer for it.

    This is the tactic employed by can flippers when they want to be able to fight you.

  3. Facepalm says:

    Thanks so much Alexia! I figured it was way over my head in my Cormorant. It was a little confusing because I was able to handle all the waves except for the final one with not too much trouble.

    I will definitely work on getting myself a decent Cruiser before attempting any further Level II’s. Thank you again for clarifying the proper way to do it, much appreciated!

    -FP

  4. You’re welcome. Some people, when they get good with skills and equipment, like to give themselves reasonable challenges when mission-running, and will try to do up to L3 missions in a frigate… or even Interceptors. :)

  5. Facepalm says:

    Got it Cyber, makes perfect sense now. Thanks so much for clarifying that for me. There is just so much I still don’t know. Thanks again!

    -FP

  6. Cyber says:

    yup :) make sure to check the color of the can :) If it’s yellow, it’ll flag you to the owner.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

