Easy Rider

Cruising Along

Well it appears I’m the worst blogger ever, lack of posts is not good!

The vacation went well, though too short. Since I’ve been back it’s been pretty quiet. Living in Wormspace can do that some times.

I’ve run many Combat sites, and several Radar sites, thus padding my stockpile of Sleeper salvage and loot. I finally finished up Gas Harvesting V last night and thus sucked clean a Ladar site for some much needed Polymer Reactions.

I also finished up Heavy Assault Missiles V, but unfortunately my current ship setups are not conducive to increased DPS since you have to be within ~12km of your target. I mainly fly my Drake, which lumbers along and cannot keep up with most Sleepers, especially when webbed. Thus I’ve had to revert back to my standard Heavy Missiles setup. I am however looking to pick up a Cerberus Heavy Assault Ship perhaps that will help?

I managed to complete some Invention runs for some T2 Heavy Assault Missile ammo. 9/20 runs isn’t great, but it’s not horrible either. Now I simply need to produce some new Planetary Interaction materials to complete the materials list before I can manufacture the ammo.

Speaking of PI, it’s been going along smoothly. I’ve mainly focused on manufacturing POS fuel and I’ve been able to make just enough to keep the tower running with a months supply of fuel, and a month stockpile. There is just enough surplus for me to focus on 2 products which I can sell, thus I’ve picked Oxygen (quick, easy turn-around) and Enriched Uranium, which seems to have the biggest margin right now.

I’m hoping to make some POS modules with my PI, but that might be a lot farther in the future as I’ve kinda hit my happy medium in terms of how much it takes to manage my setup and what I get out of it.

The only interesting story to relate happened a few days ago in our WH. I was the only one logged in at the moment when I noticed several scanning probes out. Eventually I found a Drake hanging at our WH exit to hi-sec. Eventually another ship, a Force Recon Pilgrim (Cruiser-class Co-Opts) jumped in as well. The only site we had currently in the WH was a Radar site, which they had found and warped to.

I surmised both ships were controlled by the same person as I sat and watched them cloaked up in my Buzzard. I tried to snag a Hacking can while they dealt with the Sleepers, but it proved to risky, so I simply sat back and watched.

The Drake was being used as the “damage sponge” while the Pilgrim helped with Drones and DPS. I’m not sure how much experience this Pilot had with Wormholes, Sleepers and the Sites involved. Typically there are waves of Sleepers which each wave being triggered to spawn as soon as you kill a specific type of ship from the previous wave. Most of these “trigger” ships have been recorded in Wikis and Guides for some time and anyone who’s spent any amount of time in W-space will know right away where to find this information. This particular Pilot, however, learned the hard way, as most of us did back when we first entered W-space.

The Drake began killing all the trigger Sleepers and was soon overwhelmed with 3 full waves of Sleepers. For some reason they did not warp out, thus the Sleepers happily targeted the Pilgrim and chewed it up almost instantly. The Drake barely got out in time, but did manage to warp back to the WH exit and into hi-sec.

I quickly jumped into my own Drake and warped to the Pilgrim wreck. I grabbed everything that had survived (a few T2 modules & drones) and then began to systematically take out the Sleepers that I could, warping out and back when needing to. I finished the site in around 45 minutes (as I said, the Drake is sloooow) and just as I was finishing up the Pilot returned with another wingman.

He saw that I had finished up the site, cleaned out his wreck and salvaged everything. This Pilot had been around since 2006, so he knew the game, and thus said simply and professionally “Congrats :)”. He then warped out and was gone.

I felt bad and was thinking of sending him his drones and mods back, but at the same time it was probably a good lesson for him to learn, one that I’ve learned more times than I care to imagine.

So all things considered it’s been a quiet week, but plenty to do!

2 Responses to Easy Rider

  1. pkudude99 says:

    Sorry for the necro comment, but… Cerb is good with HAM’s due to its velocity bonus increasing the range at which they can shoot, but a Cerb’s tank is range and speed, so it’s not really that good of a close-range boat, and especially not vs Sleepers.

    If you want to use HAM’s in a WH, you’re actually best off in a Tengu. If you fit the right subsystems it gets that same range bonus, can fits a 6th launcher, and can also have a massive tank that the Cerb simply can’t match.

    • Facepalm says:

      Thanks for the great advice dude99! You couldn’t be more right and I’m currently doing my best to get into a Tengu. I have all the skills, except I’m finishing up a few Science skills so I can simply make my own StratCruisers. As soon as I finish that I’ll be in the “Drake on steroids” that will be so much better than the HAC. The Cerb is a good boat, but just not quite right for WH scenarios.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

