Takin' Care of Business

The last couple nights have been fairly hectic at work and at home, so my EVE time is a little bit on the lighter side. Regardless, I’ve been able to get in space for a couple of hours here and there.

As my previous posts have stated, I’m currently training Industry V which should finish this Sunday morning. Once that’s done I can finally train Mining Barges and pick up a Procurer to fit some Strip Miners, thus (hopefully) vastly increasing my yield. But that’s getting a little ahead of myself.

With my shenanigans of  attempting to run Level II missions in a Destroyer leaving me practically broke I needed a plan to get some capital for my Procurer. I had just enough money in the bank to pick up an Osprey Cruiser and fit it for mining. It’s a very basic setup, but I already had everything I needed from looting Gurista wrecks except a few Mining Drones. Thus the past two nights I’ve done nothing but mine, and I can see why some people say it can be pretty boring at times.

My first experience with can flipping wasn’t too horrible as I barely lost anything, but regardless it taught me to play it a little safer. Most people say they rarely have a problem with can flippers, but I’m mining pretty close to Jita so the population is alot higher where I’m at and I guess ‘flipping is thus much more prevalent. So I decided to pick up 2 Giant Secure Containers to help keep my ore safe. Each GSC can hold 3,900 m3 of ore making me sorely miss my 27,500 m3 of jet can space. (Those jet cans are HUGE!) Anyways, it actually works out pretty well. I have a Badger I that can haul almost two full GSCs, and I plan to pick up a Badger II eventually that could easily haul both full containers. I transported my containers to a nice little belt nearby and anchored and password protected them along the far corner. I then came back in my Osprey and started sucking on the ‘roids.

My little mining operation

My little mining operation

There are basically 3 main types of ore in the belt I’m at: Pyroxeres & Plagioclase plus all their variations. I found the market value to be around 30 ISK per unit, not great but better than nothing. So far I’ve mined around 2 million ISK worth, but I don’t know if it’s better to reprocess my ore and sell the results or just sell what I have. I’ve read in several places that it’s not worth it to reprocess until your skills are higher. My Industry skills are mostly around III and IV so I’ll probably just sit on the ore for now. Suggestions anyone?

My current Osprey load out can be found here. I have a standard missile launcher for protection, along with 3 civilian shield boosters. I found that that wasn’t enough in some cases so I had to make a slight modification. The Osprey drone bay can hold 4 drones so I loaded it up with 3 Mining Drone I’s and a Hornet I. I can only control 3 at a time, however, so when trouble shows up, I bring in one of my mining drones and launch my hornet. Works great.

So even though I’ve had a few slow nights mining seems to be rubbing off on me. I can’t wait to get my Mining Barge this weekend and hopefully an Exhumer by next Thursday or so. Now if I could find some more valuable ore to mine…thoughts anyone?

4 Responses to Takin' Care of Business

  1. Dr Mentalus says:

    I’m not sure if anyone has pointed you towards The Complete Miner’s Guide by Halada yet. Here’s a link if you need it. http://www.eveonline.com/ingameboard.asp?a=topic&threadID=1020825 It is full of excellent information.

    Also, if you are interested, I’d be willing to buy some ore from you at a reasonable rate.

  2. Cyber says:

    Veldspar is the most profitable highsec ore at the moment. And refining your ore will almost always be more profitable than selling the raw ore.

    Here is a very nice chart (that updates daily based off eve-central.com prices). It shows the approximate value of each ore, and a price per jetcan…which shows veldspar being worth 700K more per can that the closest high sec ore at the moment.

    http://cerlestes.de/eve/oretable/

    (though realize the prices on that chart are accurate only if you have a 99.5% refining yield…the ratios between the ores will remain the same no matter what your yield is)

Leave a Reply

