Well it finally happened…

For the first time I’ve been killed by another player. Now, I knew this day was coming, I just wish I would have handled the experience better. On the other hand, it was a great way to learn and get accustomed to what lay ahead.

I’m sure many of you veteran players and pirates will laugh yourself silly at my mistake, but it is what it is.

I was happily jet can mining in a 1.0 sec system, a new player system at that, in a lonely belt with only a few asteroids left. I looked away for a second and a red Merlin pilot had appeared and was sitting right next to me. Sure enough, a large stack of Dense Veldspar disappeared and he started moving away, slowly.

Here is where I made my mistake. A stake of Dense Veldspar which I could replace in about 5 minutes, turned into catastrophe. I figured ‘Hey, he’s only in a Merlin, plus I’ve never actually engaged another player before, let’s see what happens.’ Wrong wrong wrong.

I sicked my drones on him and he happily warp scrambled and webbed me, then picked off my drones one by one. I knew I was done for. I was hoping he wouldn’t pop my pod, so I eventually ejected and warped off quickly. Bye bye trusty little mining Retriever.

So that’s no biggie, yes dumb, but nothing compared to what I did next. I had my salvaging destroyer parked at the station so I figured I’d return and see what kind of damage I could do. Why did I do this you ask? Again, I’m a true newb in every sense of the word. Anyhow, I returned and lasted even a shorter amount of time than I had originally.

I was checking out the Battle Clinic loadouts for PvP/Pirate Merlins and found that even though it’s a Frigate class ship, it can still be fit pretty well to handle things like Destroyers and even a few Cruisers.

So I’m happily out around 20 million ISK with all the T2 mining laser, T2 extenders, salvagers and tractor beams . *facepalm* A pretty expensive lesson I guess, but again I knew it was coming. It has to happen to everyone at some point and in the end I’m just glad for the experience.

2 Responses to Well it finally happened…

  1. You can’t be podded in high sec except in times of war. CONCORD would have paid him a visit had he shot at your pod.

    • Facepalm says:

      Ah, thanks for clarifying that for me Kirith. Yet again more information I have yet to learn. Being a newb sucks sometimes, but eventually I’ll get this stuff figured out. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

